Best of NSW innovation recognised at AIIA State iAwards 2016

By HSCStudyLab_admin on | July 05, 2016

Sydney, New South Wales – 1 July 2016 – The Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA) has today announced the iAwards state winners and merit recipients in New South Wales (NSW) for 2016. The iAwards is Australia’s leading awards program for innovation in the digital economy.

Entrants competed in five base award categories across Business Services, Community Services, Consumer, Industrial & Primary Services, and Public Sector & Government as well as Student Categories and Cross Categories. Winners and merit recipients across all categories will go on to represent their state and compete at the National iAwards in Melbourne, with the national winners announced on 1 September 2016 at the prestigious AIIA Gala Dinner and Awards Ceremony, attended by over 900 guests.

In New South Wales, the AIIA also awarded the New South Wales Government iAward for Public Sector and Government Innovation, of which the winner was chosen by a panel of iAwards Category Judges in conjunction with New South Wales government representatives.

The Hon. Victor Dominello MP, Minister for Innovation and Better Regulation, said, “Digital innovation has the potential to fundamentally change the relationship between citizens and government for the better. It is important that we recognise those in the public service who have excelled in tackling complex policy problems and improved services for citizens through digital innovation.”

The NSW 2016 state iAwards winners and merit recipients are:

  • Business Services:
    • Symbio Networks – TollShield (Winner)
    • Planit Software Testing – Service Virtualisation as a Service (Merit)
    • BlueChilli – BlueChilli (Merit)
  • Community Services:
    • Access Macquarie Limited – HSCStudyLab (Winner)
  • Consumer:
    • CHOICE – CluckAR App (Winner)
  • Industrial & Primary Services:
    • Switch – Switch Smart Hub (Winner)
  • Public Sector & Government:
    • OneGov, Department of Finance Services and Innovation – OneGov Digital Gateway (Winner)
    • eHealth NSW – HealtheNet (Merit)
  • Student:
    • North Sydney Girls High School – Can Your Money [Junior Students] (Winner)
    • Mosman High School – Hi-Viz Bike [Senior Students] (Winner)
    • Academy of Information Technology – AITendance [Undergraduate Tertiary Student] (Winner)
  • Cross Categories:
    • cohortIQ – Patient Centric Cohort Analysis [Big Data Innovation of the Year] (Winner)
    • – [Export of the Year] (Winner)
    • Symbio Networks – TollShield [Infrastructure & Platform Innovations of the Year] (Winner)
    • mme moe Pty Ltd – mme moe [Mobility Innovation of the Year] (Winner)
    • OneGov, Department of Finance, Services and Innovation – OneGov Digital Gateway [Research & Development Project of the Year] (Winner)
    • Insolitus Ptd Ltd trading as Open Orbit – Open Orbit, where clever meets simple [Startup of the Year] (Winner)
  • New South Wales Government iAward for Public Sector and Government Innovation:
    • OneGov, Department of Finance, Services and Innovation – OneGov Digital Gateway (Winner)

“The calibre of entrants for this year’s awards has been astounding,” said Rob Fitzpatrick, CEO, AIIA. “It’s rare to see a student innovation compete with a government or a large corporate innovation, and this is what makes the iAwards particularly exciting. All innovators are potential winners – regardless of origin, size, scale, industry or social focus.”

The iAwards is a chance for students, researchers, governments, SMEs and large businesses to showcase their innovative ideas and projects to the nation and be recognised and rewarded for having the potential to, or already having a positive impact on the community – at home, in the office and on a global scale.

The 2016 iAwards, which traditionally honour organisations, researchers and students at the cutting edge of technology innovation, had over 600 entries – an almost doubling on last year’s awards – half of which were from ‘non-ICT’ companies. Interestingly, 36 per cent of overall award entries were from companies with more than 1,000 employees, 31 per cent of overall award entries came from one or more government-owned entities and of these, over 20 per cent were joint award entries from private and public sector organisations.

AIIA’s iAwards program is now in its 22nd year. The AIIA believes this is a critical platform to demonstrate the impact that its members and the broader technology sector are driving to improve Australia’s social and economic prosperity. In the age of the ‘ideas boom’, the impact of the technology sector that AIIA represents, is more crucial to Australia’s future than ever before.

Victorian Government is the host partner for the national iAwards, the National Program sponsors are Pym’s Technology Lawyers and Informed Solutions and category sponsors are NDIA and KPMG.

The NSW iAwards 2016 is sponsored by University of Technology Sydney, Lenovo, Intech Credit Union, and Streamlined Grants Management. The New South Wales Government iAward for Public Sector and Government Innovation is sponsored by the NSW Government Department of Finance, Services and Innovation.

Referenced from:

Back to list